Oh, there is much I want to do in 2017.

Find a cure for ALS.
Advocate for social justice.
Travel to Europe.
Walk.
Write a book.

There is much to do, but I’m not resolving to DO anything.

My new year resolutions are about the person I want to BE.

I resolve to be:
Loving
Joyful
Peaceful
Patient
Kind
Gentle
Faithful
Grateful

I figure if I focus on the person I want to BE, rather than what I want to DO, what I do accomplish in the coming year will be exactly what needs to be done.

Truth is, I’m often scared about what the future will bring while living with ALS. What function am I going to lose this month? Is this the year my physical function goes completely to hell? Will life be worth living? What if, what if? I’ve not found it productive to dwell on such things.

What I do know about the coming year is regardless of what ALS does to my body, I will continue to be loved and supported by family and friends. I will spend my energy being grateful and searching for silver linings.

I’m Forgiven and Free and focusing on the person I want to BE